"JOHN CARTER OF MARS"

Film Review: John Carter

JOHN Carter is the tale of an American civil war vet (Taylor Kitsch) who is magically transported to Mars and stills the tribal tensions of the red planet while falling in love with a beautiful Martian princess (Lynn Collins) and learning a bit about life back on earth while he’s at it. If this synopsis sounds simple it is misleading of the actual but indicative of the tales potential, which drifts as far from the film itself as Mars from the sun.

The film’s attention to detail and special effects are, admittedly, hugely impressive and if all one had to pay was the extra Euro it costs for the 3D show one’s money would be well spent. As far as the remainder of the price is concerned, little or no work has been done to prevent the average cinema-goer mourning the loss of the two and a half hours this film attempts to sneak away with. There is a fun Martian dog that can run at many miles per hour, spectacular cityscapes to rival a Marvel comic illustration but the glue that traditionally holds these components together is entirely absent: plot.

To say this film flopping will be a surprise would be dishonest. Everything about it yearns to usurp the throne that Avatar built, but not a second’s celluloid is worthy of mention next to James Cameron’s revolutionary re-working of the sci-fi epic. I personally admire everything Andrew Stantan has produced to this point and I hope John Carter provides a learning curve for him in the ways of live-action film-making. Considering his back catalogue (he scripted all three Toy Story’s) I find it impossible to deal this director an outright “fail”, but my integrity as a reviewer forbids me to mark his helming of John Carter above “capable of better”.

Donnchadh Tiernan

Share

Comments



About


'Film Review: John Carter' have 18 comments

  1. June 22, 2016 @ 4:59 pm check post

    I just want to mention I’m very new to weblog and actually loved you’re blog. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You absolutely come with exceptional posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing your blog.

  2. June 22, 2016 @ 5:55 pm go to info

    I simply want to say I’m very new to weblog and absolutely enjoyed your web blog. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have fabulous articles and reviews. Regards for revealing your website.

  3. June 23, 2016 @ 3:21 am good info

    I just want to tell you that I am beginner to weblog and certainly enjoyed this website. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely come with awesome posts. Bless you for revealing your website.

  4. June 23, 2016 @ 5:59 am check page

    I just want to mention I’m new to blogging and seriously loved your website. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You amazingly have impressive well written articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your website page.

  5. June 23, 2016 @ 2:42 pm great page

    I just want to say I’m newbie to weblog and actually enjoyed your blog. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely have very good writings. Kudos for sharing with us your web-site.

  6. June 23, 2016 @ 5:31 pm try these guys

    I simply want to tell you that I am just very new to weblog and seriously enjoyed your web site. Probably I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly have wonderful writings. Bless you for revealing your website.

  7. June 23, 2016 @ 6:31 pm porno

    Major thankies for the article.Thanks Again. Much obliged.

  8. June 24, 2016 @ 2:57 am read full report

    I just want to mention I am just new to weblog and definitely liked you’re web blog. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You really have very good posts. With thanks for revealing your webpage.

  9. June 24, 2016 @ 5:21 am see this site

    I just want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and site-building and absolutely liked this blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You definitely come with awesome writings. Regards for sharing with us your web site.

  10. June 24, 2016 @ 6:03 pm asep sudrajat

    It¡¦s truly a great and helpful piece of information. I¡¦m satisfied that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  11. June 24, 2016 @ 6:50 pm BluRay Film indir

    893918 84089I truly prize your piece of work, Fantastic post. 239593

  12. June 24, 2016 @ 7:16 pm Buy Doc Johnson Goodhead sex toys online

    This is one awesome blog article.Really thank you! Awesome.

  13. June 25, 2016 @ 8:15 am Tech News Today

    Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  14. June 25, 2016 @ 11:30 am SEO

    Hi there. I found your website by the use of Google at the same time as searching for a related topic, your web site got here up. It seems great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks to visit then.

  15. June 25, 2016 @ 6:44 pm Impound

    You are a very clever person!

  16. June 25, 2016 @ 6:45 pm Education News

    Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a great site.

  17. June 25, 2016 @ 8:38 pm Stock Market News

    Keep working ,impressive job!

  18. June 26, 2016 @ 8:52 am InventHelp Pittsburgh Headquarters

    Hey, thanks for the blog.Much thanks again. Really Great.


Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

Images are for demo purposes only and are properties of their respective owners. Old Paper by ThunderThemes.net