46 Outstanding Kemmy Business School Students Receive Awards for Excellence

Published on April 24, 2012 at 11:55 am by e1dn4r44

Ariane Fritzche, and Maryna Zhukava both Limerick city centre, Aidan Keogh, Tournafulla and Kate Lyons, Murroe all recipients of a KBS NT Outstanding Scholar Award

46 high achieving University of Limerick business and management students were honoured with a KBS / Northern Trust Outstanding Scholar Awards at the Annual Kemmy Business School (KBS) 2012 awards ceremony. This is the 8th year of the awards run by the KBS and recognises the most outstanding scholars in the School each year.  The students were presented their award Certificates by Dr Philip O’Regan, Dean of the KBS and Clive Bellows, Ireland MD, Northern Trust at a ceremony which took place in the state-of-the-art KBS building. 

The awardees include 20 from Limerick, 16 from other Munster counties, seven from Leinster and Connaught with another three from countries abroad, including Poland, China and the UK. The Dean of the Kemmy Business School, Dr Philip O’Regan said at the event ‘this awards ceremony recognises truly outstanding student achievements across 29 different Certificate, Diploma, Degree, Graduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes offered by the School.’

This year the KBS introduces a pioneering new programme – the BA in International Business that will accept its first cohort of students in September 2012. This degree will provide students with strong technical knowledge in a number of key business disciplines, and it will encourage students to understand how business decisions should be undertaken in a globalised world shaped by political, social and legal issues.

Speaking from the event Clive Bellows, Ireland MD, Northern Trust said ‘these outstanding students represent the business leaders of the future in Ireland. We want to recognise their hard work, foster their talent, and encourage them to achieve their potential.”

The Louise Newman Memorial Prize was also presented at the ceremony by Fiona Brosnan, Insurance Institute of Ireland and this year’s recipient is Niamh Tobin from Fedamore, Co Limerick.  This is a prestigious accolade given to the top University of Limerick insurance graduate each year.  This prize was established in 2002 to mark the untimely passing of an outstanding business academic, Louise Newman and reflects her previous active association with the Insurance Institute of Ireland, who generously sponsored this annual prize.  Louise lectured in the Risk Management and Insurance discipline, for the Kemmy Business School, from 1996 to 2001. 

The inaugural Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) Award was also presented this year by Karen Greene, CIMA and the recipient was Patrick Doherty, Newcastlewest.

Article and Images courtesy of UL Press Office



Posted by on at 11:55 am.

This article was posted in: News, with tags: , , , , .

Got an opinion on this article? Leave it in the comments above.